Little Miss Awkward

I just can’t help it!!

Fleeting flirtations

romance.jpg I have not had a date in absolutely ages and I am gagging for one. I am fine being a single gal, and I am definitely not one of those women that feels that I need a man to validate my existence. But there are some times when some attention is nice and lately I have been wanting that. Meeting people is extremely difficult especially if like me you are not the biggest social butterfly. So my only opportunities have been at work.

For a while every week, there is this guy that I meet at work. We have this playful, jokey relationship. Before we had the Christmas break before leaving he said to me, ‘Have a great Christmas, there will be great things for you and me next year’. Being a girl, I analysed this statement to death. Does he mean 2008 is going to a good year for us seperately? Or does he mean that it will be a good year for us together? Or is it an Italian saying (he is Italian)? Whichever way he meant it, I left work beaming like an idiot. As though I had just won the lottery.

So obviously I was looking forward to 2008 like crazy. Week 1, 2008, he did not come in, neither did he come in week 2,3 and 4. I was really sad about not seeing him. But today he made an appearance. I was so shocked at how happy I was to see him. I was grinning stupidly. Told him it was good to have him back, he held my gaze for a moment too long. My insides were doing cartwheels. When he leaves he touches my shoulder. I love that, it feels intimate but not doesn’t look weird to the others around. I don’t know if the touches are an Italian thing too. I am so looking forward to seeing him next week.

What usually happens in this situation is nothing comes of it. Because I never make the first move and they don’t. So it becomes one of those fleeting things that comes and then goes. But this time, I don’t want it to be fleeting, I would like to at least have a coffee with him. And before anyone suggests making the first move, I know me and I would rather sniff Johnny Vegas’ sweaty boxers, while running through a nettle field naked rather than make the move. Don’t ask me why but I can’t bring myself to do it. I am seriously hoping he does, I mean he is old enough to be experienced in these matters because he is old enough to be my dad 😉

January 30, 2008 - Posted by | Blogroll, France, Romance, Work

7 Comments »

  1. “sweaty boxers, while running through a nettle field naked rather than make the move. ” Love it. Sounds like you’re as big of a cowardy custard as I am.
    Best wishes

    Comment by Maddy | January 30, 2008 | Reply

  2. oh la la! Little Miss Awkward likes older men? join the club, girl. definitely rewarding…
    however, just because he’s older than you, it doesn’t necessarily mean it’s easier for him to make the first move. one good idea is to somehow let him know you don’t have a problem with the age difference. make him feel comfortable enough to encourage him to make the first move.
    if you really like him, don’t wait, send an “invitation,” a welcoming and flirty comment or something…

    Comment by EuroPosh | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  3. Oh Maddy, I am the biggest cowardly custard in the world when it comes to amour stuff 🙂

    Euro- I love older men, don’t know why? (maybe I do, that is for another post). He has this salt and pepper curly hair that I love. Anyway going to ask a silly girly question here, how can I be sure he likes me and not just being a flirt, so I don’t make a tit of myself.When you suggested a flirty comment or something, that just made me cringe. Gosh I need help ;-P

    Comment by sugar007 | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  4. Oh Sugar this is so sweet! I’m all excited for you!

    AND! Italian! Yummy!

    How about you hold a small dinner party chez toi or something? Invite him and a few of your friends, that way you’re seeing him out of work but you’re not asking him out on a date so there’s no embarrassment.

    Comment by princesse | February 1, 2008 | Reply

  5. I am so there with you. for the past week this one IT guy and I have been exchanging about 30 emails a day flirting out heads off but he hasn’t asked me out. I’ve dropped so many hints it isn’t even funny, but he still hasn’t ask. Grrr. I’m not going to ask either, kind of want someone to want me!!!

    Comment by The Divine Miss M | February 1, 2008 | Reply

  6. Way to go LMA! If he’s as old as you say, he’ll find your shyness appealing and hopefully understand…
    G’luck with it! xx

    Comment by Despina | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  7. […] Flirtations par email I have not seen him in a long while but since our email exchange, I have not been able to think about anything else or […]

    Pingback by Fleeting Flirtations par email « Little Miss Awkward | May 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

